Chapter Awards

State Recognition

The Genius Loci Award

The Charles Fraser Award

2016 Student Recognition

The Mickel Fellowship in Landscape Architecture: Danielle Noonan
The Anna Lou and Robert Marvin Travel Fellowship: Allison Chan
ASLA Award of Honor: Sana Mirza (Graduate); Thackston Paul Crandall (Undergraduate)
ASLA Award of Merit: Jueminsi Wu (Graduate); Hannah Ivey Job (Undergraduate)
SCASLA Award: Caroline Reid Donaldson

National Recognition

The Council of Fellows Induction

Fellowship is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and recognizes the contributions of these individuals to their profession and society at large based on their works, leadership and management, knowledge, and service. The designation of Fellow is conferred on individuals in recognition of exceptional accomplishments over a sustained period of time. Individuals considered for this distinction must be full members of ASLA in good standing for at least ten years and must be recommended to the Council of Fellows by the Executive Committee of their local chapter, the Executive Committee of the ASLA, or the Executive Committee of the Council of Fellows.

Honarary ASLA Membership

To recognize persons other than landscape architects whose achievements of national or international significance or influence have provided notable service to the profession of landscape architecture.

The ASLA Medal

The ASLA Medal is the highest honor the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) may bestow upon a landscape architect whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and the environment.

The LaGasse Medal

The LaGasse Medals are named for Alfred B. LaGasse, past executive director of the American Institute of Park Executives and executive vice president of the National Recreation and Parks Association. From 1968 until 1976, he served as the executive director of the American Society of Landscape Architects and the American Society of Landscape Architects Foundation. Throughout his lifetime, LaGasse was concerned with the proper management of the nation’s public lands and the judicious use of the country’s natural resources.

Purpose: Recognizes notable contributions by individuals to the management and conservancy of natural resources and/or public landscapes.

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal

In 2000, the American Society of Landscape Architects created The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal to celebrate the outstanding life and career of Professor Jot D. Carpenter, FASLA, past president of the ASLA.

Professor Carpenter’s position as Professor of Landscape Architecture at Ohio State University was a formidable platform to showcase his honor, commitment, and energy as an educator, leaving an indelible mark on landscape architecture education. This medal honors his contribution to education and the profession.

Purpose: To recognize an individual who has made a sustained and significant contribution to landscape architecture education.

The President’s Medal

Authorized by the Executive Committee in 1978, the ASLA President’s Medal is awarded each year to an ASLA member for unselfish and devoted service to the ASLA at the national level over a period of not less than five years.

The Olmsted Medal

The Olmsted Medal was instituted in 1990 to recognize individuals, organizations, agencies, or programs outside the profession of landscape architecture for environmental leadership, vision, and stewardship. The Medal honors Frederick Law Olmsted, considered the founder of the American landscape architecture profession and steward of the environment.


Page generated in 0.835 seconds. Stats plugin by
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Linkedin